SUA is the leader of the INVEST European Universities Project Alliance


The Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra was successful in the Call 2020 for projects of European universities (ERASMUS +) and as the only Slovak university it became the leader of the alliance INnoVations of REGional Sustainability: European UniversiTy Alliance - INVEST. The efforts of the project team, which under the leadership of prof. Anna Bandlerová from the Faculty of European Studies and Regional Development and in cooperation with the Rectorate of the SUA prepared the project was crowned with success. The Alliance's activities will focus on students at all three levels of study, as well as on the academic and non-academic staff of the Alliance's partners.

The partnership in the INVEST alliance opens up new opportunities for the SUA in Nitra in the field of internationalization of science and at the same time offers students the opportunity to obtain a "joint-degree" within the alliance. Its other members are: Agricultural University of Plovdiv, Bulgaria; University of Thessaly, Volos, Greece; University of Applied Sciences, Karelia, Finland and Van Hall Larenstein University of Applied Sciences, Leeuwarden, The Netherlands.

The main idea of ​​establishing the INVEST Alliance is to strengthen the link between teaching, research, innovation, knowledge transfer and promoting mobility. It emphasizes four strategic pillars: competitive education, quality research and innovation, a high level of mobility, even outside the EU, and networking as a platform for future education and research. The main focus is on water, energy, food and the environment; quality of life and business.

The vision of the European Commission, which initiated the European Universities project, is to create networks of universities across the EU and to enable students to obtain an academic degree by combining studies in several EU countries.

According to the results of the 2020 Call for European University projects, 24 alliances were selected from a total of 62 applications. They include a total of 165 higher education institutions, including three Slovak universities. In addition to the Slovak University of Agriculture,  Technical University in Košice and  Comenius University in Bratislava, both as partner universities within other alliances, have also got involved.

Together with the alliances supported in the first round, there are currently 41 European universities in the European Union. We are proud that the Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra is one of them.

Go back